Panditustad's Blog
read now, i'll explain later.

I miss Calvin and Hobbes

It hard to believe but February 1st marked the 15th anniversary since Bill Watterson ended the legendary comic strip, Calvin and Hobbies. I was pleasantly surprised the other day, to see a link to an interview with him in the Cleveland Plain Dealer (his hometown) marking this occasion.

I don’t remember his statement from the time, but here is his explanation about his decision to retire the comic:
(Cleveland Plain Dealer)
This isn’t as hard to understand as people try to make it. By the end of ten years, I’d said pretty much everything I had come there to say. It’s always better to leave the party early. If I had rolled along with the strip’s popularity and repeated myself for another five, ten, or twenty years, the people now “grieving” for Calvin and Hobbes would be wishing me dead and cursing newspapers for running tedious, ancient strips like mine instead of acquiring fresher, livelier talent. And I’d be agreeing with them. I think some of the reason Calvin and Hobbes still finds an audience today is because I chose not to run the wheels off it. I’ve never regretted stopping when I did.

That strikes me as really honorable. Despite pressure, he also never agreed to license out Calvin for merchandising because he felt it cheapened the comic. Knowing these two facts really makes me appreciate the comic more. I have to agree that because you don’t see Calvin constantly on tshirts, mugs etc it feels a little more magical. Definitely my favorite comic of the time (along with the Far Side) I was crushed when both artists decided to retire around the same time.

Based on his tone in the interview though he sounds like he’s enjoying a nice quiet retired life.
Link to some great C & H strips:
http://progressiveboink.com/archive/calvinhobbes.htm

C & H

No Responses to “I miss Calvin and Hobbes”

Leave a Reply

